Preferred Jurisdiction

AV BANNER DUO2 1aSince 10 October 2010 the Netherlands Antilles have ceased to exist as a country. As of this date, Curacao, together with the country of The Netherlands (EU), Aruba and St. Maarten are separate countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Bonaire, Saba and St. Eustatius (also known as the BES Islands) became special municipalities of the country The Netherlands (EU).

Aruba, Curacao, St. Maarten, the BES Islands and The Netherlands (EU) are each separate jurisdictions as from 10 October 2010. All these jurisdictions together form the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Arresting a vessel in the territorial waters of Aruba, Curacao, St. Maarten Bonaire, Saba and/or St. Eustatius is a relatively straight forward matter, and can be arranged quickly and at a reasonable cost. This is why claimants worldwide consider our jurisdictions to be "preferred jurisdictions" for arresting vessels.

The lawyers with SOLID. attorneys are licensed to practice law in each of the jurisdictions of Aruba, Curacao, St. Maarten Bonaire, Saba and St. Eustatius, thus allowing us to assist our clients with the arrest, as wel as the subsequent judicial sale, of a vessel in any of these jurisdictions.


SOLID. attorneys © 2023 | Designed by Blend Creative Imaging | Developed by CCloud Media | Sitemap